PPAA Competition and Exhibition

The Penny Paniz Acquisitive Arts (PPAA) Competition and Exhibition is our annual art event attracting hundreds of locals and interstate visitors to see well over 120 artworks on display and for sale. Held at the Leeton Museum and Art Gallery, the 2024 exhibition will open the week before Easter and run for 6 weeks.

Peoples Choice Winner - Michelle Cartwright
Aquisitive Winner Chloe Boots

The 2023 exhibition was the 10th Anniversary of PPAAE held at Leeton Museum and Art Gallery (LMAG). This year also saw the launch of the ‘The Penny Effect’ video and the opening of the ‘Penny Paniz Room’. Opening night was Thursday 6th April, 2023 which was well attended for the announcement of prize winners. With close to  150 entries this was our best exhibition so far.

2013 - Lynne McQuillan

2014 - Warwick Dean

2015 - Scott McGrevy

2016 - Lynne McQuillan

2017 - Sheldene Visage

2018 - Lynne McQuillan

2019 - Elaine Heffer

2021 - Dorothy Roddy

2022 - Ayla Young

2023 - Chloe Boots


PPAA Acquisitive Prize Winners

Mary-anne Lattimore winner Digital image
Jason Richardson, Anthea da Silva, Aanya Whitehead
Chloe and Bradley Boots Aquistive winner
Debbie _ Michael Ierano _ Vita Vitelli
PPAAE Exhibition 2023
Debbie Ierano Winner Fauna_Birds

Acquisitive Prize – sponsor Leeton Shire Council

Chloe Boots – ‘Single Protea’

Champion Exhibit – sponsor Western Riverina Arts

Jason Richardson – ‘Summer Equinox’

Young Artist – sponsor Rotary Club of Leeton

Juleesa Twigg – ‘The Author’

Young Artist Encouragement – sponsor Rotary Club of Leeton

Emily Baulch – ‘Snow Through the Window’

Flora/Botanical – sponsor Maguires

Dorothy Roddy – ‘Spring Has Sprung’

Fauna/Birds – sponsor Leeton Veterinary Hospital

Debbie Ierano – ‘What Are You Looking At?’

Still Life – sponsor Washington Furniture

Anne Morshead – ‘The Sock’

Landscapes – sponsor Milbrae Quarries Group

Jan Thompson – ‘Tumut River’

Portrait– sponsor Sam’s Tile and Light Centre

Debbie Ierano – ‘Nothing Stays the Same’

Abstract – sponsor Celi Group

Vita Vitelli – ‘Anything Goes’

Digital Image – sponsor Leeton Communications

Mary-Anne Lattimore – ‘Country Road’

Indigenous – sponsor Acme Enterprises

Tinyka Tabain – ‘Gunhinarrung ngarumbang (Grandmother’s Country)’

Ray Watson Highly Commended – sponsor Stephen and Kathy McMahon

Anne Morsehead - ‘Wonky Interiors’

Encouragement Award – sponsor PJ & JM Lyons Buses

Linzie Nardi – ‘The Over Flow 4’

Encouragement Award – sponsor In the Frame

Lindy Norton – ‘My Kookaburra’

Photos credit: Maryanne Lattimore and Western Riverina Arts.


PPAA Category Winners 2023


Former Judges

LASI has had the honour of hosting well known regional artists who have risen to high levels of recognition in our local, state and national art communities. Former judges include:

2013 - Greg Pritchard and LSC representative

2014 - Melanie Baulch, Jeffery Wright

2015 - Raymond Wholohan, Jenny Newbound

2016 - John Beattie, Carol Stewart

2017 - Jennifer Forster, Raymond Wholohan

2018 - Melanie Baulch, Carla Gottgens

2019 - Hape Kiddle, Jennifer Forster

2021 - Sarah McEwan, Yianni Johns

2022 - Oumi Karenga-Hewitt, Roslyn Lockhart

2023 - Anthea DaSilva and Kerri Weymouth

2021 - Sarah McEwan, Sues Vos, Yianni Johns.

2022 - Aanya Whitehead, Oumi Karenga Hewitt, Roslyn Lockhart, Glenn Saddler


The Penny Effect

“The Penny Effect”, developed by artist and nephew of Penny Paniz, Mr Glenn Saddler,  highlights the influence that accomplished artist and former Art Society member, Penny Paniz, had on the development of visual arts in Leeton. 

The short video is a collection of Penny’s artworks, Prize winners of the PPAA over the past 7 years, and a record of the memories of those who worked and created alongside Penny, and is an important resource for the Leeton Art Society Inc and its members for years to come.